Universal Audio just split its flagship DAW into three purchase paths, and the announcement skips the one detail every LUNA user actually needs: which features you lose by picking the free tier. LUNA 3.0 now ships free, as a $199 one-time unlock, or bundled into the $19/month UAD Spark Studio subscription, according to Universal Audio's release notes as reported by MusicTech (musictech.com). That's real money on the line, especially if you already run an Apollo interface and want to know whether you're grandfathered into anything.
This isn't a minor point update. Seven years after LUNA's original release, UA has added four-track stem separation, a simplified recording mode called LUNA Play, clip gain automation, a strip silence tool, and the Record FX workflow that used to be locked to Apollo hardware owners only. Folder tracks, an improved piano roll, and an adaptive grid round out the quality-of-life changes (musictech.com).
The question isn't whether 3.0 is worth having. It's whether you need to pay $199 up front, commit to $19 a month, or whether the free version already covers your workflow.
What UA has confirmed, and what it hasn't
Start with the documented facts. UA's own materials, summarized in MusicTech's plugin roundup, list six headline additions in LUNA 3.0: four-track stem separation, LUNA Play, clip gain automation, strip silence, the Record FX workflow, and folder tracks, alongside piano roll and grid improvements (musictech.com).
What the source doesn't spell out is which of those six sit behind the $199 paywall, which are exclusive to Spark Studio subscribers, and which ship free to everyone. That's a genuine gap in the public documentation, not an oversight on our part.
If you're deciding right now, check UA's own spec sheet on the LUNA product page before you pay for anything. The tier-by-tier feature gating hasn't been published in enough detail to build a fully sourced comparison table, so here's what's confirmed and what isn't:
| Tier | Price | Confirmed by UA | Feature gating | |---|---|---|---| | Free | $0 | Core LUNA DAW, works with any audio interface | Not specified which of the six new 3.0 features are included | | Paid unlock | $199 one-time | Full DAW ownership, no subscription | Not specified which features move from free to this tier | | Spark Studio | $19/month | LUNA plus UA's native plugin library bundled in | Plugin bundle confirmed; DAW feature parity with paid tier not specified |
The clearest confirmed detail is the Spark Studio bundle itself: for $19 a month you get LUNA plus access to UA's native plugin catalog (musictech.com). The source material doesn't break out which specific plugins are included or their standalone value, so treat any claim about the bundle's dollar-for-dollar worth as unverified until UA publishes a plugin list.
The Apollo owner question
This is where things get genuinely murky, and where Apollo owners have the most to lose by guessing wrong. Record FX, the workflow that lets you print UAD plugin processing while tracking, was previously exclusive to people running Apollo interfaces. LUNA 3.0 folds Record FX into the DAW update itself (musictech.com).
The announcement doesn't clarify whether Record FX now works free for everyone, still requires Apollo hardware regardless of LUNA tier, or unlocks for Apollo owners inside the free tier while non-Apollo users need the $199 unlock or Spark Studio for the same feature. All three readings fit the same sentence, and UA hasn't disambiguated them in the material available. See related: vari-mu compressor buying guide: herchild 670n vs rivals for additional background.
If Record FX is your reason for upgrading, confirm the Apollo dependency directly with UA support or the product page first. A wrong assumption here costs you either hardware you don't need or a subscription you didn't need to buy.
Stem separation and LUNA Play: the two features worth watching
Four-track stem separation and LUNA Play are the additions most likely to change daily workflow, which makes their tier placement the highest-stakes unknown. Stem separation lets you pull vocals, drums, bass, and other elements apart from a mixed file — new to LUNA, though common in other mastering and remix tools. LUNA Play is a stripped-down recording mode, closer to a voice memo app than a full DAW, aimed at quick idea capture (musictech.com).
Neither the source article nor UA's public messaging specifies whether these two land in the free tier as a draw for new users, or whether they're reserved for paying customers as the headline upgrade incentive. It's reasonable to guess stem separation sits behind the $199 unlock or Spark Studio, since features like it are typically what justify a price tier — but that's an inference, not a confirmed spec. Verify it against UA's spec sheet before assuming either way. See a closer look at davinci resolve first tab freeze: how to fix it fast for additional background.
Matching your workflow to a tier
Given the gaps, match your workflow to a tier based on what's confirmed rather than what might be gated.
Also read: how to produce psychedelic trip music: a producer's guide — background
Choose free if you're evaluating LUNA for the first time, doing basic multitrack recording without needing stem separation or Record FX, or you'd rather wait for UA to clarify the feature split before spending anything.
Choose the $199 unlock if you already know you want to own the DAW outright, you'd rather avoid a subscription on principle, and you're willing to accept some short-term uncertainty about exactly which of the six new features that $199 buys.
Choose Spark Studio if the native plugin bundle alone is worth $19 a month to you, or you want ongoing access to future LUNA updates without paying for another major-version unlock down the line.
Apollo owners should hold off on any purchase until they've confirmed whether Record FX still requires their existing hardware inside the free tier. Paying twice for the same workflow is the easiest mistake to make with this rollout.
Whichever path you choose, treat UA's current spec sheet as the final word. The public reporting on LUNA 3.0 confirms the pricing structure and the feature list, but not yet the map between the two.



