The Edge costs $180 and drops tap-to-pay, which the Charge 6 supports
In exchange, the Fitbit Edge gives you a display with roughly twice the Charge 6's peak brightness, plus an altimeter, a gyroscope, an IP68 rating and ECG with AFib detection. Whether that trade is worth it depends on what you do with your tracker, not on the spec sheet.
This guide is a decision aid built on one source: Wired's review of the Google Fitbit Edge, based on 12 days of testing. This blog has not tested the device. Every figure below comes from that review, and the guide flags gaps where the review is silent.
What you gain over the Charge 6
The most visible change is the 1.34-inch AMOLED display. Wired says it reaches roughly twice the Charge 6's maximum brightness, which helps in direct sunlight. The reviewer checked metrics and controlled music mid-run. They also followed Google Maps turn-by-turn directions on the wrist while running and cycling.
The hardware additions are the second reason to upgrade. The Edge adds a barometric altimeter for elevation and floors climbed, and a gyroscope that improves automatic activity recognition. It also carries an IP68 dust and water rating alongside 5 ATM. Wired says the Edge "finally" gets IP68, which suggests the Charge 6 lacked it, but the review does not list the Charge 6's rating.
Health tracking widens too. The Edge offers:
- monthly blood pressure and insulin resistance trends
- nightly SpO2 averages, ranges and changes over time
- 24/7 heart rate and cardio load metrics
- an updated ECG app with AFib detection
- glucose insights, if you use a continuous glucose monitor
One caution on the gyroscope. Wired found auto-pause on outdoor runs too sensitive: a single step forward while catching breath sometimes restarted the workout. Expect to correct it now and then.
What you lose by dropping NFC
The Charge 6 supports contactless payments. The Edge does not. Wired calls this a regression for a newer model and a disappointment if you want the Edge to work as a smartwatch.
The reviewer did not miss it, because they rarely leave home without a phone. That is a personal habit, not a universal one. If you pay with your wrist at the gym, on runs without a phone, or on the way to work, you will feel the loss right away.
The review does not say whether a software update could restore payments, and it offers no workaround. Treat the loss as permanent when you decide.
How Google Health Premium changes the real cost
Google locks most features behind Google Health Premium, which costs $10 per month or $100 per year. Without it, you keep core metrics and scores, but deeper analysis and AI coaching are unavailable. Wired calls the membership essential to the experience. Any new device comes with a three-month trial. See more on are hot swappable battery mice worth it? a buyer checklist for additional background.
Here is a first-year estimate. It is arithmetic on the review's prices, not a quote from Google, and it assumes the trial runs first and billing starts afterward.
| First-year cost | Without Premium | With Premium (monthly after trial) | With Premium (annual plan) | |---|---|---|---| | Edge | $180 | $270 | $280 | | Air | $100 | $190 | $200 | | Keep Charge 6 | $0 new hardware | Not stated in review | Not stated in review |
Upfront, the Edge costs $20 more than the Charge 6 ($160) and $80 more than the Air ($100). With Premium, the Edge's first-year total reaches $270 to $280. Weigh that number, not $180.
The review also does not say how Premium terms apply to a Charge 6 you already own. Check your Fitbit app before assuming an upgrade is the only path to deeper features.
Is the repairable battery a reason to upgrade?
Probably not by itself. Wired describes the Edge as Google's first repairable fitness tracker, with modular construction and a replaceable battery, matching the Pixel Watch. The review links this to European Union rules that require removable, replaceable batteries in smartphones, smartwatches and similar devices starting February 18, 2027.
The review gives no repair price, parts program or service route. Without those details, the benefit is a possibility, not a plan. It matters most if you keep trackers for years and watch the battery fade. If you replace gadgets often, ignore it.
Side-by-side: Edge vs Charge 6 vs Air
The review does not list every spec for every model, so the table marks the gaps.
| | Edge | Charge 6 | Air | |---|---|---|---| | Price | $180 | $160 | $100 | | Display | 1.34-inch AMOLED, about 2x Charge 6 peak brightness | Has a screen; size not stated | No screen | | NFC payments | No | Yes | Not stated | | Durability | 5 ATM and IP68 | Not stated (IP68 described as new to Edge) | Not stated | | Battery life | Up to 7 days, replaceable battery | Not stated | Not stated | | Health features | ECG with AFib detection, SpO2 trends, monthly blood pressure and insulin resistance trends, altimeter, gyroscope | Older feature set, per the review | Monthly blood pressure and insulin resistance trends |
For comparison, the Pixel Watch 5 costs $400. Wired notes the Edge works with both iOS and Android, while the Pixel Watch does not.
Three worked buyer profiles
These profiles are illustrative examples, not real users. The verdicts are this article's inferences from the review's findings.
The outdoor runner who wants glanceable metrics. You run outside, check pace mid-stride, and sometimes bike with navigation. The brighter display, altimeter and on-wrist maps make the Edge's strongest case.
- Verdict: upgrade.
- Who benefits: runners and cyclists who use the screen during workouts.
- Main limitation: auto-pause can misfire, and the deeper analysis needs Premium.
The person who pays with their wrist. You tap to pay several times a week and often leave your phone behind.
- Verdict: keep the Charge 6.
- Who benefits: anyone for whom NFC is a daily convenience.
- Main limitation: you stay on an aging model, and Wired notes that older Fitbits are falling behind on health features and hardware. The review mentions the $400 Pixel Watch 5 only as a price comparison and does not say whether it supports payments.
The person who is fine with no screen. You read your data in the app, never glance at your wrist, and care about sleep and trends. Wired's reviewer preferred the Air and calls it the most appealing value in Google's lineup.
- Verdict: consider the Air.
- Who benefits: budget-minded users who want long-term health tracking at $100.
- Main limitation: no display for live workout data, and the review does not say whether the Air supports payments.
Run this checklist on your Charge 6 before buying
Spend a few minutes with your own data before you spend $180.
- Count your taps. Check your last month of wrist payments. If you tap more than occasionally, the Edge takes away a feature you use.
- Count your glances. Note how often you look at the screen mid-workout, and whether sunlight ever makes it hard to read. If the answer is rarely, the brighter display earns you little.
- Check your terrain. If you climb stairs or run hills and want elevation and floors data, the altimeter is a real gain.
- Decide on ECG. If AFib detection matters to you, that is a concrete reason to move. Talk to a doctor about any heart concerns rather than relying on a tracker.
- Price the year. Use the table above: $180 without Premium, or $270 to $280 with it. Then ask whether you would pay for the subscription on any device.
- Ask whether your phone is always with you. If it is, the NFC loss mostly disappears, as it did for Wired's reviewer.
If you tap to pay weekly, keep the Charge 6. If you run outdoors and rarely pay by wrist, the Edge is a sound upgrade. If you never look at the screen, the $100 Air is the better value.



